World Half Marathon Championships

Cardiff 2016

Run in the footsteps of champions and be a part of one of the most prestigious global running events in 2016.



Find us on
Latest News View all news

1200 ‘Extra Miler’ volunteers thanked for WHM Cardiff 2016 success

Organisers of the IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon Championships have paid tribute to the 1,200 volunteers who helped make the event a huge success. Called the ‘Extra Milers’, Cardiff 2016 attracted one of the largest volunteer workforces ever utilised at a sports event in Wales. Every volunteer was invited to a thank you evening at … Continued

Dewi Griffiths reaction

Dewi Griffiths kept his home flag flying high at the IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon Championships as he finished in a Welsh best 27th. The Swansea Harrier, who came into the race having recently been crowned Uk inter-counties cross country champion eclipsed the two great Steves, Brace and Jones, as he backed up Mo Farah … Continued

Race Report

Cardiff witnessed one of the greatest World Half Marathon races of all time as Kenya’s road running king Geoffrey Kamworor put Mo Farah in his place to retain his world title. Kamworor set out his stall weeks ago by claiming he was coming to Cardiff to break the world record and had the Welsh weather … Continued

A message to Cardiff from Nigel Roberts, chairman of the local organising committee for the World Half Marathon Championships

Thank you Cardiff – once again you established that the Welsh capital is one of the world’s great stages for international sport. What a race the IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon was and what an honour to see the greatest athletes in the world racing for major medals through our streets.   Everyone, but everyone, … Continued

IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon Championships Results

  Mens result: 1.Geoffrey Kipsang Kamworor (59.10); 2 Bedan Karoki Muchiri (59.36); 3. Mohamed Farah (59:59); 4. Abayneh Ayele (59.59); 5. Tamirat Tola (1:00:06); 6. Simon Cheprot (1:00:12); 7. Abrar Osman (1:00:58); 8. Mule Wasihun (1:01:11); 9. Edwin Kiprop Kiptoo (1:01:21); 10. Stephen Mokoka (1:01:27); 11. Teshome Mekonen (1:01:39); 12. Edwin Kipyego (1:01:52); 13. Nguse … Continued